And.that.is.why.

Published September 5, 2013 by insufficient mums

Hell, I got some pain in my bones tonight.

There is fractured glass in all my joints. My humanity makes me vulnerable.

I have developed a thick skin. I am damn near bulletproof.

But, about once a decade, a bullet does get through. Takes me closer to death. But doesn’t quite finish me off.

Which means I keep going, as parents must. I can feel the wound. Most of the time I ignore it. But every once in a while someone touches it. Hits a nerve ending. And I just want to crumple.

But I can’t.

I need to keep going. For these children.

And because, if they notice I am lame they will tear me to shreds.

Leave a Reply

